Area student-athletes make college commitments

High School football players and college football coaches from around the country have had February 3, 2016 circled on their calendars for a year. The first Wednesday of February is the magic signing day for football standouts all across America.

It is a time of relief for student-athletes who have gone through the rigorous recruiting process and hearing the pitch of various recruiters regarding their particular educational and athletic programs.

Coaches wait by the fax machines at their respective schools ready to receive the official document that a particular athlete has kept their non-binding verbal commitment made prior to the official signing date.

Now that the papers have been signed and delivered, student-athletes can focus on the rest of their senior year - to concentrate on their studies and spring sports before it will be time to head to their respective schools to begin their educational and athletic careers at the collegiate level. It certainly is a dream come true for all.

Pearland Oilers

This was the 19th year for head coach Tony Heath to attend the signing day of his players. Since 1997, under the guidance of coach Heath and his dedicated staff, there have been over 130 players who have signed letters-of-intent to play at the next level. These outstanding players have made Heath the winningest coach in Pearland HS history with a sparkling 189-49 overall mark.

This past season, the Oilers advanced to the playoffs for the 16th straight year and advanced to the area-round in the post-season.

The signees for this year include: Lathan Chambers (University of Manitoba), Adam Jewell (Air Force Academy), Justin Lilley (Georgetown College), Joey Longoria (Mary Hardin-Baylor), Dean Taylor (Texas State), and Cody Williams (Stephen F. Austin).

Dawson Eagles

The Dawson Eagles have become one of the more successful football programs in the state under the guidance of head coach Eric Wells and his outstanding coaching staff.

Dawson began playing varsity football in 2008 and Wells has posted a sparkling 75-28 overall record with two 4A Div. I Region III titles and the 2012 District 24-4A championship. Dawson has appeared in two 4A Div. I state semifinals.

The Eagles finished 8-4 in 2015 and advanced to the area round.

Dawson has had over two dozen players sign at the next level and there were six players who signed on National Signing Day. They were: Yohance Burnett (Navarro JC), Antoine Cannady (Army), Mykul Mitchell (West Texas A&M), Saevion Johnson (Fresno State), Brailon Mouton (West Texas A&M), and Kaleb White (West Texas A&M).

Kameron Hypolite also signed a track letter-of-intent with the University of Pennsylvania.