Dawson crushes Sam Rayburn; nips Memorial

PEARLAND — Dawson had a free pass across the Sam Rayburn home plate as they cruised past Sam Rayburn 14-1.

The Eagles scored four runs in the top of the first paced by a three-run double by Jaedon Compton for a 4-0 lead.

Dawson pushed one run across in each of the third, fifth and sixth innings. In the third, the Eagles scored on an RBI single by Zach Smith, scoring Kaden Ingram.

The offense scored four more runs in the seventh inning on an RBI single by Blake Toler, a walk by Mitchell Sanmiquel, and a groundout by Adrian Rodriquez.

Toler put himself in scoring position with three extra-base hits for the Eagles..

Walker Clayton struck out eight, allowed no earned runs on five hits and one walk over six innings.

Drake Rainer was 1-for-3 with one run scored. Toler was 5-for-5 with three runs scored and three RBIs. Jibril Hardy was 2-for-4 with two runs scored. Compton was 1-for-2 with three RBIs.

Dawson 9 - Pasadena Memorial 8

Dawson took a dramatic 9-8 win over Pasadena Memorial when Chris Jefferson’s walk-off double brought home Drake Rainer with the winning run in the eighth inning in a District 22-6A baseball game.

Jefferson, who was also the winning pitcher, went 2-for-4 with two RBIs while Rainer also had three hits and drove in one RBI..

Blake Toler and Mike Oyervides each had two hits for the Eagles.

The two teams combined for 17 runs and 25 hits, including two extra base hits.

Rainer was solid at the plate for the Eagles as he went 3-for-6, drove in one and scored two runs. He singled in the first, seventh, and ninth innings.

Memorial opened up a 6-0 lead in the top of the first, but the Eagles began to chip away at the early lopsided lead.

For the next four innings, Dawson scored two runs in the first, one in the second, three in the third before taking the lead with two runs in the fourth for a 8-6 advantage.

Memorial scored a run in the fifth and sixth innings to tie the game at 8-8 before Dawson scored the game-winner in the bottom of the ninth for the 9-8 district win.