Dawson girls capture District 23-6A track crown

PEARLAND DAWSON — The Dawson Lady Eagles scored 175 points to win the 2021 District 23-6A track crown while Shadow Creek finished second with 161 points and Pearland finished third with 126 points.

The other district teams included Alvin (47), Alief Elsik (44), Alief Hastings (20), and Alief Taylor (20).

Winning gold medals for their first place finish for Dawson included: 4x200 meter relay team of Rachel Davis, Kayla Wagner, London Powell, and Kamari Houston (1:43.91), High Jump - Casey Sauls (4-08), Triple Jump - Courtney Young (35-9.25), Shot Put - Chrystal Herpin (44-06.50), and Discus - Chrystal Herpin (44-06.50).

Placing first for Shadow Creek included: 100-meter dash - S. Bryant (12.45), 200-meter dash - L Styles (25.33), 100-meter hurdles - L. Clay (16.89), 300-meter hurdles - L. Clay (47.13), 4x100 meter relay - M. Roderique, L. Styles, S. Bryant, and N. Parks (47.03), and 4x400 meter relay - A. Kennison-Jenkins, K. Debose, A. Peters, and N. Parks (3:55.54).

First-place finishers for Pearland included: 400-meter dash - Michaela McCall (58.26), 800-meter run - Madison Peters (2:20.06), 1600-meter run - Madison Peters (5:18.21), 3200-meter run - Madison Peters (11:46.44).

Shadow Creek, Pearland boys place second and third

Strake Jesuit won the District 23-6A boys title with 170 points while Shadow Creek placed second with 135 points and Pearland placed third with 107 points. Alief Taylor came in fourth with 88 points followed by Dawson (75), Alief Elsik (29), Alief Hastings (11), and Alvin (2).

Shadow Creek did not have anyone finish in first place though they had a strong showing in all of the events to rack up second place points.

Placing first for Pearland included: 400-meter dash - Jordan Hayes (49.22), 4x400-meter relay - Romeo Yancy, Ashton Hampton, William Coleman, and Jordan Hayes (3:21.58), Long Jump - Evan Wells (22-03), and Shot Put - Riley Denman (47-06).

Dawson had one first place finisher as D. Boldrighini won the Triple Jump (45-00).