Dawson boys capture 24-4A track title

PEARLAND — The Dawson boys track team scored 163 points to win the District 24-4A track title. The Eagles captured first place in six events to propel them to a strong showing.

The 400-meter relay team of Karl Vedan, Bret Winnegan, Bryce Johnson, and Mykul Mitchell took first place in 42.24.

Matthew Murray was a double-winner in the 1600-meters (4:26.19) and 3200-meters (10:43.88).

Winnegan won the long jump with a leap of 23'8" while teammate Kameron Hypolite finished third (21'4").

Braxton Kelly won the shot put with a heave of 49'0" while Jordan Wilson finished fifth (41'7").

Josiah Cooks picked up the gold medal in the 110 hurdles with a winning time of 15.98 and he finished fourth in the 300 hurdles (42.58).

Mitchell placed second in the discus with a throw of 140'11" while Kelly finished fifth (122'7").

The 800-meter relay quartet of Wilson, Brandon Guzman, Evan Odom, and Victor Brown finished second in 1:32.56.

The 1600-meter relay foursome of James Rhodes, Hypolite, Collin Wilks, and Lindsey Taylor placed second in 3:24.12.

Vedan placed third in the 100-meters (11.56) while Winnegan placed fifth (11.79).

Rhodes finished third in the 400-meters in 49.61 while Wilks was fifth (51.61) and Taylor was sixth (52.41).

Zion Walker placed sixth in the 1600-meters (5:03.33) and fourth in the 3200-meters (10:43.88).

Justus Ross placed fifth in the 1600-meters (4:50.80).

Cole Sheehan finished fifth in the 3200-meters (10:49.45).

Winnegan placed fourth in the 200-meters (23.09) while Wilson was sixth (23.87).

The top two places qualify for the regional track meet which will determine who will advance to the 4A state track meet in Austin.