Dawson seeks to avenge loss to George Ranch

PEARLAND — Dawson will have a real challenge when they take on No. 5 state-ranked Richmond George Ranch in their season opener on Friday, August 28 at 7:30 p.m. at Traylor Stadium in Rosenberg. The Longhorns beat the Eagles last year 35-17 and it appears that it will be another challenging game for Dawson.

George Ranch was a Class 5A Div. I region finalist and closed out 2014 with a 12-2 overall mark while winning the District 24-5A crown. The Longhorns were eliminated out of the playoffs by Temple 28-14.

The Longhorns return four offensive and four defensive starts with 34 returning lettermen for head coach Ricky Tullos.

Players to watch include RB Darius Anderson (5-11, 190, 4.5), QB Antonio Jackson (6-0, 165), WR Quinton Morris (6-2, 185, 4.6), RB Josh Scruggs, DB Mikail Onu (5-11, 180, 4.5), and DL Tesslym Annifowoshe (6-0, 245).

The offense will look to Anderson to provide the firepower as he had 1,800 yards rushing on 180 carries for 20 TDs a year ago.

The Longhorns are the team to beat in their district.

Dawson returns five offensive and six defensive starters with 27 returning lettermen.

Head coach Eric Wells and his coaching staff have done an excellent job since the school opened in 2007. The Eagles have captured two Class 4A Region III titles and advanced to the 4A state semifinals twice. The football program is considered one of the elite teams in the state.

Several players will be key to the Eagles success in 2015 which include junior QB Zach Smith (6-2, 165) who will take over the reigns of the offense after the departure of QB Vance Galloway who was the District 22-6A Co-Offensive Player of the Year.

All-District RB Saevion Johnson (6-0, 185, 4.5) had an outstanding year in 2014 and offensive coordinator Ryan Silvertooth will be looking for him to carry a heavy load on offense. Johnson had 101 carries for 1,011 yards and 14 TDs.

The Eagles defense will be experienced and talented led by All-District CB Mykul Mitchell (6-1, 195, 4.4), ILB Patrick Howell (6-1, 225), All-District DE Jordan Rodriguez, All-District CB Vincent Fisher, All-District LB Kevin Lambert, and LB Yohance Burnett.

Offensively, Smith will be looking to some outstanding receivers in All-District WR Brailon Mouton (6-3, 175, 4.5) who led the team in receiving with 35 catches for 629 yards and 4 TDs, All-District WR Drake Rainer, and WR Kaleb White.

All-District OT Chris DeSantiago will anchor the offensive line while sophomore RB Miles Lewis (5-10, 165, 4.6) will look to contribute offensively.