Higgins, Riassetto, Yarotsky headline All-District 22-5A picks

FRIENDSWOOD — The District 22-5A coaches named Friendswood freshman pitcher Chloe Riassetto as the "Most Valuable Player" on the All-District 22-5A team after the Lady Mustangs captured the league crown with a perfect 14-0 mark.

Riassetto proved that she is going to a real talent for the Lady Mustangs as she still has three more years to be one of the area's top players.

As a pitcher, Riassetto fashioned a 12-3 pitching record as Friendswood posted a 24-5 season mark while moving up to a No. 7 state ranking before being eliminated in the post-season. Riassetto had a 2.02 ERA with 100.1 innings in the pitching circle with 138 strikeouts while holding opposing hitters to an anemic .179 batting average.

Riassetto also proved herself in the batter's box as she hit .471 going 40-for-85 with 20 runs scored, 37 RBIs, eight doubles, one triple, and four home runs.

"What I love about her is she's just a competitor," said Friendswood head coach Christa Williams-Yates. "It doesn't matter if you hit a home run, she's going to come out there and compete on the next pitch. She does that at the plate too. She's very even keel but super competitive."

Friendswood senior Elizabeth Higgins was named 22-5A "Defensive Player of the Year." Higgins hit .404 going 36-of-89 with six runs scored, 29 RBIs, seven doubles, one triple, and one home run.

Sophomore Patricia Yarotsky was named "Offensive Player of the Year" for the Lady Mustangs after she hit .582 going 57-for-98 with 52 runs scored, 22 RBIs, nine doubles, two triples, six home runs and 33 stolen bases.

Jenna Johnson of Crosby shared the offensive award with Yarotsky.

Davionna Driscoll of Texas City was named "Newcomer of the Year" while Jennifer Oregbesan of Texas City was named "Coach of the Year."

Named to the All-District first-team was junior Haven Franks at the Utility position. Franks was 5-0 pitching with a 1.04 ERA. She pitched 33.2 innings with 46 strikeouts and limiting the opposing hitters to a .194 batting average.

Franks hit .233 going 10-for-43 with seven runs scored, four RBIs, and two doubles.

Junior outfielder Reagan Jones was also named to the first-team for the Lady Mustangs. Jones hit .412 going 33-of-80 with 23 runs scored, 25 RBIs, seven doubles, one triple, and seven stolen bases.

Others first-teamers included: Cece Pace of Crosby, designated player; infielders Gabby Cantu of Goose Creek Memorial; Britaney Shaw of Galveston Ball; Mya Holmes of Texas City; Reese Reyna and Ryleigh Mata of Santa Fe; Zoie Garcia of Galena Park; Hannah Wiggins of Crosby; Ciara Trahan and Juliana Garcia of Santa Fe; Gabby Legginton and Cheyenne Mohler of Goose Creek Memorial; pitcher Maddy Blake of Santa Fe and catcher Maggie Herdejurgen of Crosby.

Second team selections included infielders Bayleigh Lay and Caylynn Esparza of Friendswood; Maggie Childs and Rylie Bouvier of Santa Fe; Nicole Price of Baytown Lee; pitcher Janae Girouard of Galveston Ball; catchers Tavern Ortiz of Texas City and Megan Fox of Baytown Lee; outfielders Amandi Adi of Friendswood; Alejandra Hernandez and Viviana Alaniz of Galena Park; Jamie Slone of Crosby and Mackenzie Clark of Galveston Ball.

Honorable mention selections included Lauren Adams and Madelyn Wilson of Friendswood; Linzie Jarvis of Baytown Lee; Ashley Nickerson and Miranda Trigo of Santa Fe; Grace Smith and Arianna Rodriguez of Galveston Ball; Gabrielle Logan and Samantha Bundy of Texas City; Nicole Vale and Mariah Gaytan of Galena Park; Catherine Montoya and Lizbeth Martinez of Goose Creek Memorial; and Grace Sparks and Heather Harrison of Crosby.