J.P. Griffon fishing tournament another success

PEARLAND — More than 300 anglers participated in the 31st annual J.P. Griffon fishing tournament in Port Mansfield to help raise scholarship money for 2018 graduates.

Those students receiving a $1,000 scholarship to help support them in college next year include: Brady Beken, Paul Birmingham, Camryn Bish, Ally Ehrman, Alex Dehoyos, Jacob Haffelder, Amanda Hunt, Zach Montz, Priya Ponia, Sophie Rudd, Madeleine Scott, Trevor Wilson, Jacob Vegas and Madison Weisinger, all of Friendswood High School.

Other scholarship winners were Zach Brown of Port Aransas; James Leavelle of Corpus Christi Flour Bluff, Mary Beth Ratcliff of Hudson and Travis Valore of Pearland.

Winners in the Hardware Division was team El Gato which included James Boone, John Allen, David Boone and Larry Holdorff.

Winners in the Open Division was team Reel Ready II, consisting of R. Allen Caudle, Scott Becker, Terry Eatherton and Cody Eatherton.

Winner in the Guided Division was team Dark Horse, consisting of Noe Hernandez, Charlie Buchen, Trey Hill, Drew Parrack, Chris Parrack and Clay Faust.