Pearland lacrosse players sign letters-of-intent

PEARLAND — Three high school lacrosse players who were awarded athletic scholarships were recently honored by the Pearland Youth Lacrosse Club (PYLAX).

Railcats varsity players Kyle Dunklee, Dusty Moore and Zac Crosby were recognized by coaches and club officials at a ceremony Dec. 15.

The three Pearland High School seniors were the first Railcats players to earn college lacrosse scholarships.

Brent Harris, Boys Program Coordinator for PYLAX led the recognition ceremony,

“It is a testament to what these athletes have accomplished to see how it has inspired our younger players,” Harris said.

“I see this as the beginning of what will eventually propel Pearland lacrosse to the top of their division in the years to come.”

Head coach Tim O’Brien said on many levels Moore, Dunklee and Crosby could be considered the team’s “first three”.

“Early on, these three athletes played a big part in helping the team earn their first varsity team victory,” O’Brien said. “These three players were there when the team got their first playoff victory.

“They were there when we took home our first set of tournament victories that eventually landed us a spot in the IMG National Tournament in Florida. And now they are our first three players to be awarded athletic scholarships.”

The recognition ceremony was hosted by Turner College and Career High School (TCCHS), which serves as the Railcats’ team sponsor.

“Their success makes us happy,” principal Dr. Jennifer Morrow said. “We’re just proud to be a part of it and we’re proud to be supporters and partners with Railcats Lacrosse.”

Railcats attackman Kyle Dunklee recently committed to play NCAA Division II lacrosse for Ohio Valley University in Vienna, West Virginia.

Goalie Dusty Moore is committed to play NAIA Division lacrosse for Benedictine College in Atchison, Kansas and defender Zac Crosby recently committed to play NCAA Division II lacrosse at the University of Mount Olive in Mount Olive, N.C.