National Signing Day

High School football players and college football coaches from around the country have had February 4, 2015 circled on their calendars for a year. The first Wednesday of February is the magic signing day for football standouts all across America.

It is a time of relief for student-athletes who have gone through the rigorous recruiting process and hearing the pitch of various recruiters regarding their particular educational and athletic programs.

Coaches wait by the fax machines at their respective schools ready to receive the official document that a particular athlete has kept their non-binding verbal commitment made prior to the official signing date.

Now that the papers have been signed and delivered, student-athletes can focus on the rest of their senior year -  to concentrate on their studies and spring sports before it will be time to head to their respective schools to begin their educational and athletic careers at the collegiate level. It certainly is a dream come true for all.

Pearland Oilers

This was the 18th year for head coach Tony Heath to attend the signing day of his players. Since 1997, under the guidance of coach Heath and his dedicated staff, there have been over 125 players who have signed letters-of-intent to play at the next level. These outstanding players have made Heath the winningest coach in Pearland HS history with a sparkling 176-48 overall mark.

This past season, the Oilers advanced to the playoffs for the 15th straight year and advanced to the area-round in the post-season.

The signees for this year include: Jake Blumrick (Stephen F. Austin), JaColbie Butler (University of Texas at San Antonio), Ryan Deshotel (University of Houston), Ronnie Fraser (Navarro JC), Deonte Givens (Tyler JC), Jonathan Sam (Stephen F. Austin), and Willie Williams (Texas State).

Dawson Eagles

The Dawson Eagles have become one of the more successful football programs in the state under the guidance of head coach Eric Wells and his outstanding coaching staff.

Dawson began playing varsity football in 2008 and Wells has posted a sparkling 67-23 overall record with two 4A Div. I Region III titles and the 2012 District 24-4A championship. Dawson has appeared in two 4A Div. I state semifinals.

The Eagles finished 8-5 in 2014 and have advanced to at least the third round of the post-season each year since they began varsity competition.

Dawson has had over two dozen players sign at the next level and there are four players who are signing on National Signing Day. They are: Brandon Gilmore (McMurray), Isaiah Guillory (Texas A&M Commerce), Cameron Wilson (Incarnate Word), and Brett Winnegan (University of Texas at San Antonio).