Realignment by UIL announced for area high schools

PEARLAND — Every two years, schools report how many students are enrolled at their school. The University Interscholastic League then takes those numbers, subdivides them into relatively equal classes, and – based largely on geography – determines which district each team will play in.

No one is quite sure what the University Interscholastic League (UIL) is going to do with the realignment before being announced. As one local coach remarked, "It is what it is!"

The new districts were announced on Monday, Feb. 3 for all the schools across the state of Texas.

Pearland and Dawson remained in District 23-6A with Alief Elsik, Alief Hastings, Alief Taylor, and Strake Jesuit, but Alvin and Alvin Shadow Creek were moved into the district while Brazoswood was sent to District 24-6A.

That gives Pearland and Dawson an eight-team district and will allow them to have three non-district games before district competition begins.

Friendswood moves into a new district and the competition got a little easier than they have faced the past two years. The Mustangs will be in Class 9-5A-I with Baytown Goose Creek Memorial, Baytown Lee, Baytown Sterling, Beaumont United, Galveston Ball, La Porte, and Port Arthur Memorial. Manvel will join the league for basketball only.

Manvel moves up to District 10-5A-I with Angleton, Fort Bend Hightower, Fort Bend Kempner, Houston Milby, Houston Wisdom, Katy Paetow, Manvel (football only), Richmond Foster, and Rosenberg Terry.

District 23-6A
Alief Elsik
Alief Hastings
Alief Taylor
Alvin Shadow Creek
Houston Strake Jesuit (basketball only & boys only)
Pearland Dawson

District 9-5A-I
Baytown Goose Creek Memorial
Baytown Lee
Baytown Sterling
Beaumont United
Galveston Ball
La Porte
Port Arthur Memorial

District 10-5A-I
Fort Bend Hightower
Fort Bend Kempner
Houston Milby
Houston Wisdom
Katy Paetow
Manvel (football only)
Richmond Foster
Rosenberg Terry