Braswell, Gaston, Martens head District 23-6A picks

PEARLAND — Pearland sophomore De'Yona Gaston was selected "Most Valuable Player" in voting on the All-District 23-6A girls' basketball team selected by the league's coaches.

Gaston battled through some early season injuries prior to the start of district which was a setback to the Lady Oilers who started 1-9 without her in the lineup.

Once the sophomore sensation got healthy, she proved why she is so important to the Lady Oilers as Pearland captured their second straight league title and finished the season 22-4.

Gaston scored 371 points for an 18.5 scoring average per game. She led the team with 87 offensive and 118 defensive rebounds for a total 205 boards. Gaston had 53 blocks, 27 assists, and 43 steals. She hit 93-of-134 free throws.

Lady Oiler junior guard Macey Braswell was chosen as the "Offensive Player of the Year" while Alief Elsik junior Sandra Chuks was named "Defensive Player of the Year." Alief Hastings freshman Nia Hardison was chosen "Newcomer of the Year."

Braswell was the glue that held the team together while Gaston and Jocelyn Thompson were out early with injuries.

The junior sharpshooter led the team in scoring with 744 points while scoring at a 21.2 per game scoring clip. Braswell hit 113-of-148 free throws, had 89 steals, 53 assists, and 82 total rebounds. She also hit 79 3-pointers.

Sharing coach of the year honors were Lauren Martens of Pearland and LaShawn Johnson of Alief Elsik.

It was only natural that Martens would be one of the "Co-Coaches of the Year" after the Lady Oilers captured their second straight District 23-6A crown. Pearland won the title last year for the first time in 26 years and the Lady Oilers were able to do it again with an 11-1 mark this season.

First-team members include Dawson junior Kyra Lunford, Pearland senior Jocelyn Thompson, Brazoswood senior Yonnie Ware; George Ranch sophomore Jaedyn Dunn; junior Erineseia Ford and senior Jordan Sanders of Elsik; junior Tatiyanna Riley and senior Bryana White of Hastings; and junior Jaswsain Caston and senior Brier Debose of Alief Taylor.

Lunford was Dawson's leading scorer as she averaged 8.6 points per game with a total of 274 points. Lunford pulled down 103 offensive and 157 defensive rebounds while dishing out 16 assists, getting 53 steals, and 13 blocked shots.

Second-team members included senior Teshuna Lockhart of Dawson, seniors Madison Gissendanner and Sophia Volpe of Pearland; sophomore Denetria Nelson of Brazoswood; junior Jada Shanklin of Elsik; senior Shelby Kvinta and junior Milan Francis-Miller of George Ranch; senior Jaylyn Cage of Hastings; and juniors JaQuirrea Jankins and Kamiya Royal of Taylor.

Honorable mention selections included Taylor Helms and Sydney Pettett of Brazoswood; Sydney John-Baptiste, Angleica White and Olivia Johnson of Dawson; Sydney Collins and Leslie Nichols of Pearland; Kaila English, Shauna Thompson and Delores Okeke of Elsik; Amillion Fowler and Chinazam Omeludike of George Ranch; Da'Necia Trusty and Alia Moratada of Hastings; and DaJohnna Armstrong of Taylor.

All-academic selections were Robyn Barber, Romelie Biya, Jaelyn Compton, Danielle Foster, Teshuna Lockhart and Kyra Lunford of Dawson; Macey Braswell, Jaelyn Jackson, Cameryn Griffin and Sophia Volpe of Pearland; Tyrianna Bob, Kryslen Harris and Kaila English of Elsik.

Also, Danielle Dunk, Jaedyn Dunn, Ibukunoluwa Famogun, Amillion Fowler, Milan Francis-Miller, Lauren Krouch, Shelby Kvinta, Isabella Little, Chinazam Omeludike and Gabrielle Owens of George Ranch; Jalesia Jackson, DaNecia Trusty, Alia Mortada and Bryanna White of Hastings; Kayla Cao, Stephanie Osazuwa and Brier Debose of Hastings; and Jocelyn Aguilar, Christina Bolton, Haley Helms, Taylor Helms, Sydney Pettett, Kennedy Pointer, Kassandra Pulido and Yonnie Ware of Brazoswood.