Lady Oilers dominate All-District basketball selections

  Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

Asst. Andre Stokes, Head Coach Jere' Adams, Asst. Damita Hampton, and Asst. Corey Grays

The Pearland Lady Oilers basketball team set a new PHS season record at 35-4 while winning the District 23-6A title (12-0), the Class 6A Region III crown while advancing to the 6A state semifinals.

The district coaches recently voted on the All-District teams, and it was no surprise that the Lady Oilers would dominate the district honors.

Voted as the "Coach of the Year" was Pearland's second-year head coach Jere' Adams who has a two-year 63-14 record while leading the Lady Oilers to the 6A state semifinals. Pearland's last appearance in the state basketball tournament was in 1980 when the Lady Oilers were in Class 4A 43-years ago.

Of course her coaching staff of Andre Stokes, Corey Grays, and Damita Hampton play an important role in Pearland's success.

Named as the 23-6A "Most Valuable Player" was Pearland senior RyLee Grays. The McDonald's All-American nominee and North Carolina commit scored 648 total points (16.6 ppg), 416 rebounds, 57 assists, 69 steals, and 46 blocks.

Defensive "Player of the Year" was senior Paige Bonner who scored 221 points (5.7 ppg), 84 rebounds, 114 assists, 151 steals, and six blocks.

Pearland players named to the All-District first-team were: junior La'Niah Thornton (276 points [7.1 ppg], 165 rebounds, 29 assists, 40 steals), and junior Nyah Hardy (395 points [10.1 ppg], 116 rebounds, 44 assists, 65 steals).

Pearland players named to the second-team included: sophomore Eliece Perry and senior Janae Tucker.

Shadow Creek Lady Sharks

Shadow Creek had a strong season finishing 24-13 overall and 9-3 in district. The Lady Sharks beat Clear Creek (49-40) and Deer Park (40-31) in the first two rounds of the playoffs before being eliminated by Summer Creek 56-30.

Named to the All-District first-team were: senior Kameryn Phillips who scored 535 points [14.9 ppg], 320 rebounds, 21 assists, 87 steals, and 4 blocks; senior Nyla Price scored 253 points [6.8 ppg], 90 rebounds, 80 assists, 62 steals, and 4 blocks.

Named to the second-team included: senior Alana Trail, junior Kyndall Drones, junior Krislyn Biscette, and senior Peyton Holmes.

Dawson Lady Eagles

Dawson was a very competitive team under head coach Sharee Griffin as they finished 16-18 overall and 5-7 in district while barely missing the post-season.

District "Newcomer of the Year" honor went to Dawson freshman Kendall Ford who scored 373 points [11.0 ppg], 280 rebounds, 60 assists, 95 steals, and 6 blocks.

Dawson had two players named to the first team who were senior Kennedy Ford, who surpassed scoring 1,000 points for her high school career. Ford scored 349 points [10.3 ppg], 100 rebounds, 34 assists, 96 steals, and 3 blocks, and Ziara James who scored 279 points [8.2 ppg], 137 rebounds, 81 assists, 71 steals, and 4 blocks.

Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

La'Niah Thornton

Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

Paige Bonner

Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

RyLee Grays MVP

Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

Kendall Ford

Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

Nyah Hardy