Texas Sports Writers All-State teams honor Lady Oilers

PEARLAND — The Texas Sports Writers Association released their 2016 All-State softball teams and the Pearland Lady Oilers had three players named to the first-team and one player selected to the second-team.

Pearland won the District 22-6A and 6A Region III championships to advance to the 2016 state softball tournament in Austin. This was the fifth time that Pearland has been to the state softball tournament. The Lady O's won the state championship in 1996 and then went to state in 2009, 2010, and 2011 bringing home the state trophy in 2010.

The Lady Oilers made another run for their third state title but came up short in the finals against Keller after defeating Weslaco 4-0 in the semifinals.

Pitcher Alyssa Denham was one of the strong reasons why the Lady Oilers had such a successful season. The tall, lanky pitcher was named as Pitcher of the Year by the Houston Chronicle.

Denham, who was the District 22-6A Co-Player of the Year, finished the season with a 21-3 pitching record. She pitched 149.33 innings, allowed only 21 runs, held her opponents to a .154 batting average, walked 62, and struck out 227. She had multiple combined no-hitters. She also hit .361 with three doubles, two triples, two home runs and 16 RBIs. Denham was named to the TGCA All-State team and NFCA All-Region squad. She will continue her education and playing career at the University of Louisiana-Lafayette.

Sydney Gutierrez was named first-team first baseman. Gutierrez, who is a University of Georgia signee, hit .455 with 13 doubles, three triples, six home runs, 25 runs scored, and a team-leading 43 RBIs.

Lindsey Stewart was name to the first-team outfield. The UT at San Antonio signee hit .477 with four doubles, eight triples, 29 runs scored, 24 RBIs, and 19 stolen bases.

Junior Ashlynn Walls was named as a shortstop to the second-team after she hit .485 with 11 doubles, three triples, 23 runs scored, and 25 RBIs.

Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
Ashlynn Walls