Head named to Houston Touchdown Club pre-season team

PEARLAND — It came as no surprise that the Touchdown Club of Houston would name Pearland quarterback J.D. Head as one of their pre-season top three signal-callers at the recent luncheon honoring the 2019 UIL High School Pre-season Team.

Head was honored with two other top area quarterback that included: Troy Tisdale (Houston Lamar) and Mike Welch (Dickinson).

Last season, the Louisiana Tech commit was 170-of-277 passing for 2,468 yards that included 25 touchdowns and six interceptions while gaining 165 yards rushing on 35 carries and one score.

The field general set three new PHS passing records previously held by former Pearland All-State quarterback Trey Anderson who led the Oilers to a 5A Division I state title in 2010. Head now owns the records for passing yards in a single-game (357), single-game touchdown passes (6), and most touchdown passes in a season (26).

Head guided Pearland to a 10-0 regular season mark and the District 23-6A championship in 2018.

Other players from the Houston area included:



J.D. Head, Pearland; Troy Tisdale, Houston Lamar; and Mike Welch, Dickinson

Running Backs

Devon Achane, Marshall; Zach Evans, North Shore; Breyton Gilford, The Woodlands; and R.J. Smith, Tompkins

Offensive Linemen

Joshua Bankhead, College Park; Smart Shibuzo, Hightower; Damieon George, North Shore; Chad Lindberg, Clear Creek; and Akinola Ogunbiyi, Kempner

Tight End

Drake Dabney, Cypress Ranch

Wide Receivers

Logan Kyle, Tomball Memorial; Troy Omeire, FB Austin; and Parker Washington, FB Travis


Defensive Line

Vernon Broughton, Cypress Ridge; Alec Bryant, Shadow Creek; Chidozie Nwankwo, Foster; Warren Robinson, Marshall; Asyrus Simon, Atascocita; and Bryson Stewart, Ridge Point


Corey Flagg, North Shore; Timothy Lavallais, Heights; Dyllon Peavy, Westfield; and Josh White, Cypress Creek

Defensive Back

Xavion Alford, Shadow Creek; Denzel Blackwell, Strake Jesuit; Joshua Eaton, MacArthur; Braden Hay, Katy Taylor; Dwight McGlothern, Klein Oak; and Bryson Washington, C.E. King