Volleyball standouts named to All-District 22-6A teams

PEARLAND — The Pearland Lady Oilers won the District 22-6A crown for a second consecutive year while the Dawson Lady Eagles also made the playoffs.

Pearland head coach John Turner saw his girls ranked in the top 20 for most of the season.

There were several girls from both teams that received top post-season honors for Pearland and Dawson.

It came as no surprise that junior outside hitter Brooke Botkin was named the league's Most Valuable Player.

"Brooke has once again this year proven that she is the best player in the state in the class of 2017 and might well be one of the top 3 in the nation," Turner said. "She has grown as a player while becoming a very efficient hitter and she improved her defense immensely over the last year. She was the overwhelming choice as MVP for the second straight year."

Senior Caroline Shecterle was named Setter of the Year. Her ability to mix the offense up and run the floor as a general was the key for our success this past year.

"The chemistry that this team possessed was because of her and Amanda Chapa creating a great team environment."

Senior Libero Amanda Chapa was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

"What a role model volleyball player for all our girls in the program.," Turner pointed out. "She is the leader that lets her play speak for itself by making spectacular digs and passing at a high efficiency rate. Her performances earned her “Defensive Player of the Year” and Amanda was chosen as “AVCA USA Today Under Armour All-American for 2015.

"This is a testament of her play that is witnessed by coaches throughout the state. She and Caroline Shecterle were born to be leaders as every player in the program showed the utmost respect to both as they helped guide them deep in the playoffs."

Pearland junior middle blocker Sam Costello was named to the All-District first-team.

“Sam is hands down, the most improved player on this team," Turner said. "Sam has become a force on both sides of the net – offensively and defensively with her consistent play. She has also grown as a player becoming a leader on the court and in the dressing room.

"Sam will play a big role in the future of Pearland Volleyball as she moves into her senior year. I expect big things from Sam!"

Pearland senior Hannah Ofczarzak was named to the All-District first-team.

"What a difference a year makes as Hannah stepped up to play a different role on the left side for us this year and did an awesome job," Turner said. "She is such a team player and her teammates love her competitiveness as well as her humor as a teammate. I feel that Hannah has broken down some barriers this year that helped her become the player she is today.”

Pearland senior DS Kylie Napoleon was named to the All-District second-team.


Dawson also had some top honors as head coach Jason Karim was named "Coach of the Year" for the district.

Karim has done a tremendous job in leading the volleyball program at Dawson and continues laying a foundation to take it to the next level.

Dawson's freshman middle blocker Kynnedi Johnson was named Co-Newcomer of the Year in the district.

Dawson senior middle blocker Zoe Hill was named was named District 22-6A Offensive Player of the Year.

Dawson had a young team this past season and Karim will certainly believe that his team has a strong chance of capturing the district title next year.

Named to the All-District first-team for Dawson was junior Libero Jordan Brown, sophomore outside hitter Jordyn Sinnette, sophomore DS Marisabell Torres, and sophomore setter Sarah Kirk.

Dawson had two players named to the All-District second-team and they were sophomore RS Katelynn Tripp and junior setter Grace Foltyn.

Manvel had four players named to the first-team. They were senior outside hitter Marissa Stinson, senior middle Tatyana Tyson, sophomore Libero Torie Frederick, and sophomore setter Abigail Harness.

Second-team members include sophomore DS Natalie Honore and sophomore outside hitter Taylor Frederick.