Pearland, Dawson diamondmen named to All-District 22-6A teams

PEARLAND — The Pearland Oilers slipped in the latter part of the season to lose the District 22-6A championship to the Alvin Yellowjackets while the Dawson Eagles rallied in the second half of the season to make the playoffs as Pearland finished as the No. 2 seed and Dawson closed out as the No. 3 seed playoff teams.

Pearland's pitching staff of junior Brady Basso, senior Casey Michna, and senior Brendan Owens dominated the All-District 22-6A first-team pitching selections while senior centerfielder Ryan Diaz was also a first-team pick for the Oilers.

Dawson had two players named to the first-team as pitcher Chris Jefferson was honored. Michael Oyervides was named the district's Newcomer of the Year.

Basso had a strong season on the mound as he posted a 4-1 mark and led the team with 49.2 innings pitched. He also had a team-leading 1.55 ERA and 52 strikeouts.

Michna pitched 35.2 innings and had a sparkling 7-1 record with two saves while striking out 35.

Owens pitched was 4-2 on the season with two saves. He struck out 36.

Diaz had a strong year at the plate hitting .398 with six doubles, one triple, 15 RBIs, 40 runs scored, and 34 stolen bases.

Named to the second-team for Pearland was senior junior first baseman Cody Williams, senior outfielder Jacob Almendarez, and senior designated-hitter Eddie Redou.

Dawson senior pitcher Chris Jefferson was 3-0 with five saves in 36 innings. He recorded 19 strikeouts and had a 0.89 ERA.

Oyervides hit .350 in 25 games including six runs scored, seven doubles, two home runs, and 19 RBIs.

Other Dawson players making the second-team unit was pitcher's junior Adrian Rodriguez and senior Jonathon Carter, junior second baseman Blake Toler, junior outfielder Drake Rainer, and junior utility Walker Clayton.