Basso named District 22-6A Most Valuable Player

PEARLAND — Pearland pitcher Brady Basso was named District 22-6A Most Valuable Player by the league’s baseball coaches.

Basso was Pearland's ace on the mound this season posting an 8-1 pitching record that included one no-hitter, two shut-outs, and two saves. He tossed 62.2 innings with 107 strikeouts and a sparkling 0.67 ERA.

The Oilers had one other first-team member as outfielder Caleb Maly had an outstanding season. Maly was the top hitter for Pearland with a .455 batting average which included four doubles, 12 RBIs, 32 runs scored, and 30 stolen bases.

Named to the first-team for the Dawson Eagles was pitcher Walker Clayton who pitched 49.2 innings with 35 strikeouts. He posted a 5-3 mark with a 1.97 ERA.

Tristan Perez was named first-team at first base after he hit .368 with five doubles, , 15 runs scored, and 15 RBIs. Outfielder Drake Rainer was also named to the first-team as he hit .325 with one double, 7 RBIs, and 20 runs scored.

Alvin’s George Banda was selected Coach of the Year and Yellowjacket Jerran Schiller was named Newcomer of the Year.

First-team members included pitchers Joe Dalmolin and Mark Luna of Alvin; Logan Portis of Pasadena Memorial; Danny Vasquez of Pasadena Rayburn; and Joey Pate of Manvel.

Other first-team selections included catcher Beau Olsovsky of Alvin; first basemen Logan Haley of Alvin; second baseman Nathan Collins of Alvin; third baseman Bubba Baxa of Pasadena Memorial; and shortstop Corben Henry of Alvin.

Outfielders included Danny Ortiz of Pasadena Memorial; Euro Diaz of Pasadena Dobie; and Warren Laster of Manvel.

First-team utility player was Justin Silva of Pasadena and first-team designated hitter was Alex Jones of Alvin.

Second-team members included pitchers Mason Van Noort and Jaron Roblyer of Pearland; Zach Wright of Alvin; Dane Laird of South Houston; and Kaelon Woods of Dobie.

Other second-team selections included catcher Mike Oyervides of Dawson; first baseman Jesse Paredes of Dobie; second baseman Blake Toler of Dawson; third basemen Henry Bird of Alvin and Luis Salazar of Dobie; shortstop Levi Dixon of Manvel.

Also on the second team were outfielders Chris Jefferson of Dawson; Cody Williams of Pearland; Kade Morris of Alvin and Victor Pulido of Pasadena Memorial.

Other second teamers were utility player Johnathan Rodriguez of Pasadena Memorial and designated hitter Isaiah Vasquez of Dobie.

Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
Walter Clayton
Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
Tristan Perez
Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
Drake Rainer