30th annual JP Griffon fishing tournament honors 2017 graduates

PEARLAND — There were 333 anglers who attended one of the largest in-shore tournaments in the state of Texas which was held in Port Mansfield in May. The purpose of the tournament was to help raise scholarship money for 2017 graduates.

Those students receiving a $1,000 scholarship to help support them in college next year include: Logan Bryant, Kelly Cole, Hannah Carpenter, Alexandra Hall, Ty Kempken, Claire Kitchel, Shelby Michael, Trace Mertel, Delaney Rhodes, Cade Roenne, Elaina Roher, Reed Roher, Alex Rudd, Hunter Ryberg, Adam Smith, McKenna Stran, and Cory Thornton all of Friendswood High School.

Three others from others included: Megan Barineau (Bay Area Christian HS), Jett Peeler (Bonham HS), and Tyler Valore (Lutheran South HS).

Tournament winners included:

Open Division Champion: Team Reel Ready II - Terry Eatherton, Cody Eatherton, Allen Caudle, and Scott Becker.

Guided Division Champion: Team Reel Time: Noe Hernandez, Jeff Neu (Guide), Mark Thomas, Wesley Thompson, and Ronnie Brush.

Hardware Division Champion: Team Friendswood Kwik Kar: Brett Todd, Kyle Melgren, Jeremy Sonnier, and Taylor Cragin.