Butler named MaxPreps "Coach of the Year"

PEARLAND SHADOW CREEK — Shadow Creek head coach Brad Butler headlined the Texas All-State football team selected by MaxPreps sports website.

Butler was named the "Coach of the Year" by the national website for leading his team to the Class 5A Div. I state championship with a perfect 16-0 record. The Sharks have only been playing varsity football for two seasons and Butler has led them to a 31-1 overall record with their only loss coming last year to three-time state champion Highland Park 27-17 in the state title game.

The Sharks had some unfinished business for the 2019 football season. A pre-season second place pick in District 10-5A-I -- the Sharks once again proved all the naysayers wrong by winning the league title and then capturing the 5A Region III Div. I championship to keep on their path to the state throne room.

Shadow Creek dominated the San Antonio Wagner Thunderbirds 45-21 in the 5A state semifinals before beating Denton Ryan 28-22 for the state crown.

Butler has not only seen his teams win on the field, but he is a staunch believer in developing character, integrity, honesty, hard work, commitment, and dedication in the life of each player.

The Sharks have proven that they have no quit in their game and they have been taught by Butler and his outstanding coaching staff that each player has to play the full 48 minutes as a team.

There were other Shadow Creek players who joined Butler on the All-State team. They were:

Virginia Tech signee senior defensive line Alec Bryant (6-3, 240) and senior linebacker Jeremiah Harris (6-1, 205), who was named Defensive MVP for the state championship game.

There will no doubt additional honors that will be bestowed upon Butler and his players in the near future and deservedly so.

Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
Alec Bryant
Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
OFFENSIVE MVP - Shadow Creek junior quarterback Kyron Drones was named the Offensive MVP in the state title game. Drones led the offense hitting 10-of-18 passing for 185 yards and rushing for 152 yards on 24 carries and two touchdowns for a total of 337 total yards as the Sharks beat Denton Ryan 28-22 to win the 2019 Class 5A Div. I state championship.

The Sharks finished 16-0 this season and are 31-1 over their two-year existence as a varsity team.
Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
DEFENSIVE MVP - Shadow Creek's Jeremiah Harris was named the Defensive MVP in the 5A Div. I state title game.

The linebacker collected 5.5 tackles, one for a loss and two sacks in the 28-22 win over Denton Ryan giving the Sharks their first state title in their young school history.